Sunday, October 31, 2010

Day 91 and 92

Happy Halloween Everyone!!!!
So yesterday was Gaga Day. We had a good posse rounded up and ran into a bunch of neat costumes. Boy was it cold out! Luckily I kept my jacket with me to store all my valuables in. We ran into a bunch of friends while we were out and about too! All in all it was a good night and I was down right exhausted when I got home.

Then today was Packer game day and trick-or-treating for all my little cousins. We all met up at my grandma's. Cameron and I got major cuddle time. :) He was the cutest little monster ever!


Then tonight Josh and I got Chinese food and are watching football and doing laundry. A very relaxing Sunday night.

I think I'm going to try not running this week. I started running five weeks ago, and every week I gain weight, despite adjusting my food and water intake. It is really discouraging to try and lose weight by running and instead gain weight five weeks straight. So I'm going to give it a break this week and see if it makes a difference at all. I hope I can figure it out cuz none of it makes sense.

Well off to work again tomorrow! (aka probably nothing exciting to report on) Nighty night!

Friday, October 29, 2010

Day 90

Happy Day 90 everyone!!!

So today was my 4th day up on the unit. I had a new nurse as my preceptor took PTO, but I got to keep my same patients. Today was the day of compliments. :) A student was amazed about me being only on the floor for such a short time because I seemed so relaxed and knew so much. :) My patient's wife gave me a huge hug and told me that I'm a great nurse! :) The nurse I worked with today was amazed at how well I've caught on to stuff thus far, and told me how advanced I was compared to other new grads. :) Yay for a good day!!!

So it being Halloween in a few days I felt compelled to give myself a French Halloween manicure. It was super cute, and then I changed my mind, because tomorrow night 'Gaga' will not have cute nails. She will have black nails. Tomorrow night unleashes the Gaga posse on the bars of Green Bay. There are four of us each displaying a different Gaga outfit. I will be suspender wearing Gaga from the end of the Love Game video.

This is my cake topper that my dad carved for me. I showed him one that I liked and this is what he spit out. :) I'm super pumped to have such a beautiful and sentimental cake topper.

Tomorrow morning I get to meet with the cake lady and then hopefully get more wedding things accomplished tomorrow during the day! Then Gaga posse at night! Whoop!

Happy Haunting Blogland!!!

Thursday, October 28, 2010

Day 87, 88, 89

So, I know this post is for three days worth, but this is all you get: Cadence in her witch hat looking cute as heck.

Now that I'm working full time I rarely have the time or energy for picture worthy events/things. *yawn*

So Monday was day 1 on the floor = 1 patient.
Wednesday is Day 2 = 2 patients.
Today was Day 3 = 3 patients.

Having three patients was actually pretty awesome today. Things went really well, up until one of my lumens to my PICC clotted off, but have no fear TPA to the rescue! (clotting was sooo not my fault... but we won't go there.) By the end of next week I need to be managing 5 patients (at least) all on my own. And then I go to 7th floor for a few weeks.

I've been so tired lately. This AM shift is totally not my cup of tea.

Today I went running, despite it being FREEZING out. I was shivering for hours after my run. I need to invest in warmer running clothes. I really didn't want to run and even thought about cutting it short, but I'm so glad I did. It re-invigorated me and I was able to get so much done tonight: dishes, shopping, wedding things. :) I love running. I do not love cold.

Darn run giving me energy... no I'm not tired and I will definitely pay for it tomorrow! Arg!

Time to numb my brain on some TV and hopefully get tired! Night lovelies!

Monday, October 25, 2010

Days 84, 85, & 86

So Saturday was my bridal shower. I got so many nice gifts. It was really awesome having my friends and family all in one spot. Here is my cake, in our wedding colors, or Pirate colors. Take your pick! It was a ton of fun, and I have lots of yummy left overs in my fridge.

That night was the bachelorette party. We went out to eat and then to the wine bar. Afterwards we came back to my house for margaritas and games. Also tons of fun!


Today was my first day of a full day on the floor with my own patient. It was pretty easy. Just a dude with pneumonia. So then I got to follow my preceptor around and learn more of the ways of my floor. My preceptor has been there for 26 years and is the encyclopedia of my floor. She trained my friend's mom back in the day and also my cousin. I'm excited to get back there and hopefully get a bigger challenge and learn more!

Tonight was S&B. It was fun, but I was really tired and didn't have an awful lot to contribute to the conversations.

Ooooooh! I also got my congratulatory wedding letters in the mail from the president and Arnold Schwarzenegger. My dad was super pumped about that last one! I basically got it because I knew he idolizes Ah-nold. So I sent the Governator a wedding invite and got back a personalized letter of congratulations. His was better than Obama's. Obama's was just a standard send out with no names on it or dates or anything. Meh, oh well, both will be cool mementos to have!

Half-day training day tomorrow. Then shopping and going for another dress fitting! Whoop! Night peeps!

Friday, October 22, 2010

Day 83

TGIF!!!!
So today I went into work. I had my computer trainings this morning. All of the electronic equipment was malfunctioning so it took twice as long as normal to get done. Afterwards my boss was in a meeting, so I didn't get partnered with anyone and got to go home!!! Woo!

Then Jodi and I went for our run. It killed. We were both sore for various reasons. And we griped the whole time.

At home I made some spaghetti for dinner and then it was off to the Gamblers game!!!! 15 people went with us to celebrate Emilie's bday. Unfortunately there were no fights. :( But the Gamblers won 2-1 in over time! Then Josh and I jogged the 10 minutes home, which felt miserable after my run this afternoon.

Right now I'm just finishing up cleaning for the Chateau to be opening tomorrow. We will have Ashley, Ashley, Kurt, Griffin, and Mona spending the night. The last 2 of which are dogs. It's going to be a packed house tomorrow! So much fun!

I'm going to have such an awesome post after tomorrow! I can't wait!!!!! Stay tuned for epic details!

Thursday, October 21, 2010

Day 82

Look what came in the mail today!!!! So I fancied it up to show my utter excitement. :)

Speaking of work, today was probably the nicest day yet. It was an easy day and just flew by. However today I also found out that I'm getting a shorter orientation than most new hires. Since I'm getting time off for the wedding and the honeymoon, they want me to be on my own before I leave for the honeymoon....

So I'll be missing a good 2 extra weeks of orientation. This makes me nervous. I shouldn't be. I did really well in school and I pick up things really quickly. Ever since the damn boards and failing the first time, I doubt my abilities. It doesn't help that I've been away from patient care for so long. I haven't done legit hands on skills since spring of '09. My last two clinicals were very psychosocial and not physical at all. Not to mention the giant lack of charting I had to do. And now I'm being thrown into a nasty charting system. *breathe* It will all work out and I will fall into my pace in good time.

Tonight I went shopping with my mom for my outfit for Saturday. I got a very cute purple dress. (since I'm heavily addicted to purple right now) It is simple but I can really make it cute with accessories. And it is something that is casual enough for the shower but dressy enough for dinner. Super pumped!!!!

Tomorrow can not go fast enough. I'm going to clean the whole house yet tonight, then training tomorrow morning, followed by probably more cleaning. Then the hockey game tomorrow night. Then Saturday morning Kurt and Ashley arrive!!!!! Super excited! Then it's party time!

TGIF my bloggers and bloggettes!

Wednesday, October 20, 2010

Day 81

Happy Day 81!!!
Today I got to wear my scrubs to work! I shadowed for the first half of the day. It was pretty laid back and relaxed. Work goes at a much slower pace than in Madison. There are less people in the hallways and much much less noise than was in a big teaching hospital. The second half of my day was spent learning the archaic computer system. They got a computer system 20 years ago... and continue to use the same one today. Next year they will be getting Epic... thank God!

After work it was raining, so I headed over to my parents house to use their treadmill for my run. Treadmills suck. My distance is a bit off and there is no scenery... unless you count Adam's dirty clothes and drums all over. Then I came home and made dinner. And for the past couple hours I've been watching terrible reality TV via Netflix. My choices were: the Kardashians and the Duggars.... so I'm watching the Duggars. I adore how their little boys wear sweater vests. :)

Now for my Yays and Nays of the new job so far:
Yay- I get to park in the parking ramp for free! I just swipe my badge and I'm in. It will be super handy in the winter. No brushing snow for me!
Nay- Their charting system. A 20 year old charting system. I think even once I get the hang of it, it will still take me forever to do anything.
Yay- Since it is a Catholic hospital they do not perform abortions. For the past three days the hospital next door has had protesters outside to protest the abortions performed there. But my hospital doesn't do that. It falls in line with my beliefs and makes me feel very at peace.
Nay- There are no bar codes. At all. Meds are done via paper. No wrist band bar codes. And heaven forbid you don't know how to read the ancient scrolls the meds are printed on, because then you are bound to have a med error.
Yay- Everytime a baby is born a short lullaby charms over the intercom throughout the hospital. It it really cool and refreshing to know that despite the illness around us, there is happiness and new life in the hospital.

And now for my RSVPs of the day: *drumroll*
The awards go to Kelly and Lisa!!!!!
I'm super pumped at how many RSVPs I've gotten back so far!

Tuesday, October 19, 2010

Day 80

I'm so exhausted I can't even snap a picture of my puppies... my usual fall-back subjects. I'm not digging this first shift thing. I like my sleeping till 9am then running then being productive. I do not like waking up and being to work at 7am then being so tired that I can barely enjoy running then dying on the couch all night. I want to start working my PMs.... badly! But I have to train on AMs for the next month and a half at least. Tomorrow is the first day I scrub in, so we'll see how that goes.

I'm getting so excited for this weekend. I keep thinking "oh ya, shower, blah blah" but what really gets me pumped up is that I get to see so many friends and family this weekend. It's really going to be a blast.

*yawn* Bed time for this RN. woot!

Monday, October 18, 2010

Day 79

Today was day 1 of work. All the blah orientation stuff. Policies, benefits, etc. Long boring day. Tomorrow will be a half day of nursing orientation.

I got home and I ran for my week 3 of the Couch to 5k. It felt amazing! This is the week where the running and walking even out. It was super easy. I definitely could've kept going, but I'm sticking to schedule.

Then I got home and made link sausage and green beans. It was super yummy! Made Josh happy too! :) I'm such a good fiancee!

Oooh I also found my stylist for the wedding. Super pumped. Now I just have to call tomorrow to price out up-dos so my girls can decide if they are going to get their hair done with me. I spent part of the night talking with one of my bridesmaids and getting super jacked up for my shenanigans this weekend!

Well time for bed, so I can orient more in the morning! Night bloggers and bloggettes!

Sunday, October 17, 2010

Day 78

Today sucked. In general just a bad day. Woke up and cleaned. Got ready to tailgate. Tailgated. Watched the game. Tailgated some more. Wasn't feeling up for my run today. Probably won't be able to start work tomorrow. Overall just bummed out and grumpy.

My bridal shower is this weekend. I suppose I need to find something to wear.... hrmmm.... I'll go through and raid my apparel, maybe I'll find something. Maybe I'll get something new. Who knows. Not super excited yet. Blame my crappy mood. By the end of the week I should be good to go!

Time to go be mindless for a while, maybe watch some TV.

Saturday, October 16, 2010

Day 77

Happy Sweetest Day!!!
Today was a bit crazy. First of all I went shopping with my mom. We stopped at the pet store and I bought a $10 dog toy.... which turned into a $162 vet bill. These are 2 of the 5 wounds Cassi received. Both dogs were very interested in the new toy, which turned into a heated fight over it. We had to pull them off of one another, and Cassi came away limping and crying. 15 minutes later the blood came, and came and came, all from different holes. Just when we thought the bleeding was done a new spot would soak through her fur. Being that the wounds were on her foot I wanted to bring her to the emergency vet to get antibiotics to prevent infection.
So now she is a cone head. A very sad one at that. I feel so bad for my puppy.















Today was a great day for many reasons:

1) Wendy and James got married! They were in Vegas, but there was a live feed for us to watch. It was so cool! I think every wedding should have that option.

2) Bobby and Cassie are engaged!!! I've been waiting for this moment for awhile. I'm so happy for them both! *sending hugs to Texas!*

I've been thinking lately about how I wish I had a sister. So many of the sisters I know have such a close bond with each other. You grow up sharing clothes and secrets about life. While friends can fill that void, I just wish I knew the closeness sisters feel. I want a sister. :( Should I ever have a daughter, I will definitely give her a sister. I don't know why but it is important to me.

Now for cleaning up the house in preparation for tomorrow's tailgating!


Day 76

Today was a busy and fun day! This morning I got up and went running with Jodi. Afterwards Nikki showed up to visit for a bit. Then I mowed the lawn and ran some errands.

Tonight was the Playbox show! It was awesome! My Uncle Duke got up and sang Johnny Cash's "Ring of Fire". He can now cross that one off his bucket list. For those of you who don't know he was diagnosed with terminal cancer of the liver, stomach and pancreas. Chemo has shrunk at least one tumor, but overall there is a poor prognosis. I can not wait to see a video of his performance.

I had a lot of friends show up for the show. It was really cool because most of Adam's friends were unable to come. My ears are still ringing and I'm down right exhausted. It was a good celebration and entertaining night with friends and family. I hope they can book more shows soon!


Thursday, October 14, 2010

Day 75

SEE! SEE! SEE! I PASSED!!!!
I had convinced myself I was going to fail. I did not think passing was possible. I had 1000 other back up plans running through my head. And now I start work on Monday! The next chapter of my life begins now!

These are the gorgeous flowers Josh's family got me, there is a balloon on there too.

So in my grumpiness yesterday I told everyone at my mom's work that I failed. I bet them each $100 that I failed. Well I didn't fail.

So instead of $100 I made them cookies. They were very appreciated despite everyone being on diets. Haha!

I got back 6 more RSVPs today! Super pumped. It is interesting to see who is coming and who isn't.

I celebrated by passing by having dinner with Josh at Olive Garden. Very yummy.

The celebration will continue at the Playbox show tomorrow!!! I can't wait, it will be so fun!

Now for some Grey's Anatomy and maybe some artistic happenings. :) Now that I no longer have to study and have time on my hands!







Wednesday, October 13, 2010

Days 72, 73, and 74!

So I just got back from Madison! While there I: ate at the Melting Pot, colored pictures, took my boards, and picked up our wedding bands!!!!! I'm so excited to bring my rings in to get them soldered. I'm going to be flashing around so much bling!

Today I went running. My shin splints will be the death of me, I swear! Once I'm about halfway through the route I can't feel them anymore, but at first they are killer.

Today was grooming day! I shaved pups, clipped toenails, brushed, showered, and brushed again. I took so much hair off of them, and I feel I could still take more hair off! They are super tired now which is nice! Yay for happy tired clean and not-stinky puppies!

Then I went out to eat with Mom and Jess, who had been doing some shopping for the bridal shower. Everything is all falling into place. I'm so excited!

Then off to the seamstress for our initial dress fittings. It was me, mom, and Emilie. She is going to do some really neat things with my dress and hopefully it will fit better. Right now it bunches up a bit weird, but she has it taken care of! We go back in 2 weeks to check on the progress.

Tomorrow's tasks: honeymoon and hair dresser.

Also: The RSVP of the day goes to......
*drumroll*
Dyan, Dave and Miah!
Aka- "Miah and her rockin' parents"
It was all covered in Elmo stickers and made me laugh histerically!

Sunday, October 10, 2010

Day 71

(This is Jude.)

ANXIETY!

That Sam-I-am! That Sam-I-am! I do not like that Sam-I-am!

Have you tried taking the exam?
(YES IT SUCKED!)

I would not could not in my town, I would not could not upside down.
I will not take it just for fun. I will not take it for someone.
I do not like it big or small. I do not like this test at all.
I do not like it here or there, I do not like it anywhere.
I do not like taking my exam, I do not like it Sam-I-am!

Saturday, October 9, 2010

Day 70 - Columbus is a douche.

So on with more raking today! My puppies are so photogenic. :) *love*

Today was a study day and raking day. And mild errand running. I picked up a scarecrow and named him Jude. I also gave him googly eyes. :) I LOVE FALL!!! And I painted my finger nails orange and toe nails brown. LOVE FALL!

People started getting my invites today!!!!! And I would get them back perfectly next week, but stupid Columbus Day delays my plans. Columbus Day isn't even a real holiday. He didn't even discover the U.S., he landed in the Bahamas. Columbus is a douche.

I can't wait to start getting RSVPs back!!!! I have a cool pen that I'm going to use to fill out names on the favors as people send them back! SOOOOO EXCITED! If you are reading this.... SEND IT BACK NOW!!!!! Thanks! :)

Friday, October 8, 2010

Day 69

Today was busy busy busy!!!
This morning I got up and finished addressing envelopes. Mass chaos.

Then I went running. I am growing to love running. Hence the photo. My new running friend is my watch. I couldn't find my old one so I went and bought this one. The stopwatch is so easy to use while on the move. I find that I run better if I base it on time instead of distance.

Then I went to the post office, Micheal's, and over to visit Cameron the cutest baby EVER! He was all smiles and giggles and even waved good-bye. All babies should be as well behaved as he is!

Then out to lunch with Ashley for her birthday. She didn't even see it coming when they came out singing. Mwhahaha!

Then back home for 2 minutes, then running more errands until about 1830. Busy day. Then watched some episodes of "Say Yes to the Dress".... makes me really excited for my first fitting on Wednesday!!!! And my veil will be done! Super pumped.

Now time for some night time quiz time, maybe some lectures. And then some sleep! Night all you happy blog folk!

Thursday, October 7, 2010

Day 68

Happy Fall Everyone!!!!

Today I ran again. I am starting the "Couch to 5k" plan. It is a structured program to build endurance to run a 5k. I am not a runner, but I'm working on it! :)

Then I raked the leaves in the backyard. Puppies enjoy running through my leaf piles. They also enjoy digging holes in the back yard.... leading me to go to the construction site by my grandma's and loading up with lots and lots of dirt to fill the holes.

I was asked how I get my "fake" dogs to sit still... There are only three times they ever sit still: 1) Lock them in their kennels. 2) Lay in bed with them. 3) As in this case, bribery.... food, treats, etc. They look so calm and pretty.... now if only they could always be like that.

I did a lot of studying today, and have a bit more to do yet tonight. Tomorrow is going to be super busy. I have errands to run which may or may not include invites. ;) I have holes to fill, thank you puppies. Add in a birthday lunch with Ashley. Running to the craft store. Swapping out a vehicle. And of course don't forget more studying!

Gotta run! (literally and figuratively)

Wednesday, October 6, 2010

Day 67

Day 67 seems like a good day to share intimate details of my live with my dear beloved readers. After all it is Hump Day...

Yes, this is an actual pee test and yes I did take a picture of it. No, I didn't think I was pregnant, but it helps to double check from time to time. I've been off my pill for two months now and we have been using alternative methods of birth control. My period likes to be a giant no-show, maybe due to stress, or maybe because my body is lame. Either way I wanted to double check because I don't want to have to second guess myself when I drink.... aka right now. A lovely glass of mid-afternoon wine.

I know far too many people who are careless with birth control and sexual encounters, who also like to drink. Some of them are okay with getting pregnant, others aren't. I'm a huge baby advocate. And if there is a chance at all that you could be pregnant, then don't drink. Don't risk the health of an unborn child. More importantly use birth control.

*steps off soap box*

So my car is currently in the shop. I need new break pads and routers. Not too horribly expensive, and I want my car in tip top shape for my journey to Madison.

I've been such a good girl studying lately. I can not wait for it to be over! I just want to dive in to the final details for the wedding. I have so many little things to do, people to meet with, etc. Invites go out this FRIDAY!!!!! WOOOOOO! People will get them starting getting them over the weekend and then hopefully when I return home I will have some waiting for me! What a happy time! :)

I'm going to go listen to more lectures and wait for my mechanic to call. I hope everyone has a bright and cheery day and can enjoy a good glass of wine!

Tuesday, October 5, 2010

Day 65 and 66

This is the ordeal that takes place in my backyard on a daily basis. The squirrels grow nuts (hehe) and come stompin' into our yard. So I release the beasts and they chase them out of the yard. Normally this squirrel just sits high enough to taunt her, and then every time she jumps it scoots up a bit higher. This went on for about 25 minutes today. They keep getting faster and closer to catching a squirrel. I kinda hope they do, but at the same time I kinda don't want to risk them getting fleas despite the flea and tick preventative.

Yesterday was a pretty stellar day. I ran a mile and a half, then studied all day. I met my mom at the salon while she was getting her hair dyed and consequently got a free hair cut! Cha-Ching! Then I met Nikki and Jamie and Becky and Rick out at the movies. We saw 'The Social Network' which was a decent movie. I'm not as in love with it as some others who have seen it. But it did give me a hungering for a 'twin sandwich' or a 'Sean-a-thon'. Haha!

After the movie we went to Perkins at midnight... something I haven't done for a very long time. It was an hilariously good time. I need more of those.

Today was a study day. And then I went to babysit a sleeping baby, so I studied there. After this I will study again. Tomorrow I can't forget to A) go running and B) bring my car in to get that ear-piercing shriek checked out. I would like for my car to not blow up on me when I go to Madison.

October is Breast Cancer Awareness Month. Breast cancer will kill almost 40,000 women this year. Not to mention for all you ladies out there, your chances of getting breast cancer is 1 in 8. That sucks. Think about your seven closest friends. One of you will get breast cancer.

My grandma had breast cancer and beat breast cancer... twice. Unfortunately the side effects of the chemotherapy reduced her heart function to about 15%, leading to heart failure. The heart failure, combined with Alzheimer's, is what eventually lead to her passing in June of this year.

My aunt was just diagnosed with aggressive breast cancer less than a month ago. Just last week she started chemotherapy. All prayers are with her in making a speedy recovery.

Since most of you reading this are younger, do self-breast exams and urge your mothers and family members to practice breast health too. Spread the word. Our women are too important to lose.

Sunday, October 3, 2010

Day 64

Well, it was game day. So I did nothing but football related things today. So here is a picture of Lambeau from my home.

Today for the game we were full of parking! Duke and Jamie, Zach and Adam, and then Dana and her friends. It was pretty awesome. I watched football all day, made lasagna, and made more apple crisp. Overall a very fall-feeling sort of day. I'm simply exhausted right now and have no idea how I'm going to be able to study yet tonight.

*yawn*

Saturday, October 2, 2010

Day 62 and 63

My flower girl baskets are done!!!
YAY!

Today was a very productive study day and wedding day. I felt generally crumby all day, so I stayed in and listened to lectures all morning. I napped for a couple hours this afternoon, and then tonight finished my flower girl baskets. They were red and yellow before I got my hands on them. There is a very light iridescent ribbon around the baskets that may be hard to see in the pictures.
I found a couple more cool wedding ideas that I'm not at liberty to discuss.... hehe.

Now time to do some practice tests and quizzes. Big football day tomorrow so it will be a struggle to get studying done. Not to mention I might need to be a DD yet tonight for my cousin. Time to get back to the books!

Night blogland.

Friday, October 1, 2010

I got nothing.

No picture. I'll make up for it tomorrow.
I just need to vent. I feel lost. Ever since I've moved to Green Bay I feel completely lost. My life has had no real purpose. When I was in Madison I had regular and consistent interaction with friends; I had school; I had numerous jobs; I had neighbors who I frequently interacted with. Ya, I love the city of Green Bay more, and I have some family and friends here. But that is where it all ends. I have "no" job yet. No means of income to even go out to eat or to a movie with friends. Or no income to drive and roadtrip to see other friends. No income to get me out of the house. With the exception of exercise and essential errands, I rarely get out of the house. Studying keeps me locked in social isolation. My purpose of life in Madison was nursing, and now I don't even have that due to a dumb standardized test. I exhaust my brain to the point of exploding and yet feel like I'm running on a treadmill getting nowhere. Any forms of self improvement I attempt are a monster failure (with the exception of spiritual awesomeness). It feels like the world moves around me and I'm just sitting still.