Monday, February 28, 2011

Day 209-211

So I have no picture because things are a disaster....
As in... rearranging the entire house....
Out of the blue, Josh decided he no longer wanted his desk in the second bedroom.... well great.... and he needed an office chair.
So today I went and bought an office chair. As Olivia helped me unload it, we mentally rearranged the whole house. I got all revved up for it!
When Josh got home I told him all about it and we got to work!

"Move this here, no move it there, now over here, it doesn't fit there."

Finally.... we got the living room sorted out. All I need to do is vacuum it! Next comes the second bedroom. I'm turning it into a sitting room. The piano will stay in there, things will be going in, and things will be coming out. I mapped it all out in my head and can't wait to get started on it!

Once I get this house sorted out maybe it will perk me up. I'm am in such a funk and I absolutely can not get out of it. I hate it! And there is nothing I can do about it... at all. I know there is a saying something like "if you don't like your situation change it and if you can't change it, change your attitude." Well that just isn't going to happen. All I can do is pray. Pray for patience and acceptance.

Friday, February 25, 2011

Day 206-208

This is Misty. My grandma's really old, really fluffy, really tiny cat. I was at my Grandma's on Wednesday and we sorted through a whole bunch of old pictures! I love old pictures! She has boxes of pictures just tucked in the corner and I convinced her it would be nice having help sorting. :)

Wednesday night was Nikki's Lia Sophia party. We had a bunch of fun and I can't wait for my jewelry to come in! Even though a few people didn't show up at the last minute, I think it worked out for the best. Otherwise seating would've been tight!

Last night I worked. And the craziest part was that Carri and Cindy were working too. That usually never happens because we are all 8 hour people.
Things got a bit ridiculous last night. Carri pointed out to me how one of the doctors walks like Captain Jack Sparrow. She is soooooo right. He does the little hand out to the side and the butt waddle! We died laughing. Which led to the rest of the night making pirate jokes and bombing each other with candy.

We both work again tonight (not sure if Cindy does, but it would be awesome if she did!). Things have the potential to get out of control.

I also work this weekend, but then I have three days off next week...in a row!!!! :) Super pumped about that! I'm going to be able to get so much done!

Well my dears, I hope everyone has a happy Friday! And for those of you who don't work this weekend - enjoy!

Tuesday, February 22, 2011

Day 198-205

So I've been slacking. Last week a worked a ton and this weekend was a busy one. We went out to Wisconsin Rapids to visit Josh's grandparents. It was very nice to spend time with them. They weren't able to make it to the wedding and Josh was sick when they came for Christmas.

Then Sunday was the storm.... Note the GIANT snow drift hanging off our roof blocking most of our view of the backyard.

Yesterday was our recovery period. AKA - shoveling. Today I'm am so sore from it. I also worked yesterday and it was pretty good. The night started off really busy but eased down as the night wore on. Last week I was complaining to Josh how I miss my psych patients. I love the mental aspects of care versus all the physical junk. I miss all my psych knowledge that slowly seeps out of my brain every day I don't use it. Well last night, my need was fulfilled. I had a patient with and extensive psych history: self-mutilation, suicide attempts, behavioral issues, the works. Definitely filled the psych void in my life.

And today is another day. I work today and then have tomorrow off. Nikki is having a Lia Sophia party tomorrow and I can't wait!!! It's going to be a ton of fun!

Monday, February 14, 2011

Day 197

Happy Valentine's Day blogland!

Today was fantastic! I woke up and met my hot date, Nikki, for lunch. We grabbed a bite to eat and then went to buy new bras. Happy boobs = happy person! We met up with my mom and ran to a couple more stores. After we ran all over town and hit up all of the bargains, we came back to my house so I could help Nikki assemble her new wall art.

Then I spent a good chunk of time cleaning. When I work days on end, the house tends to fall apart. Dog hair invades, dishes pile up, mail overflows. So today I tackled it all. And a clean kitchen = happy me! :)

Tonight was Stitch and Bitch. I worked on writing more thank you cards. It is a slow process but I'm making progress and that is all that matters!

I also started another weight loss tracking plan. I have for years been keeping track of calories... and normally I track them in a notebook. Now I'm slowly converting some of it to an online tracker. We'll see how this goes.... Hopefully I can get past my hump that I'm stuck on.

Well I hope every had a great Valentine's and I hope everyone has a great rest of the week!!!!! I'm going into a 4 day working stretch, so hopefully I can keep updating regularly.

Sunday, February 13, 2011

Day 194-196

If it was spring, I would take a picture of a rock and a hard place and put it here.... maybe with me squished between it. But instead it's snowy out so I'll give you this courtesy of Google images:

I feel like the age I'm at is a shitty one. Not for just me, but for anyone this age. This is the age where, for most people, real life becomes real. We are thrust into the world of grown-ups. We are grown up.

...And it is scary.

All of my friends are facing struggles: Ending long relationships. Getting married. Starting families. Buying houses. Applying for grad school. Graduating grad school. Moving. Moving across the country for a job. Watching their significant other move across the country without them. Trying to find a significant other. Getting sucked into monotonous jobs. Trying to find a new monotonous job to get sucked into.

We pay our own bills... if we are lucky sometimes our parents might pitch money our way. We have to get insurance, save for retirement, manage finances. Nobody is going to pick us up when we fall. And somehow we have to save for all of the expenses life throws at us.

My whole life up until now was scheduled. For 18 years of my life I was on school's schedule. They determined when I vacationed, when I worked, when I woke up, when I ate, and what I did with my free time. I no longer have that. I can work whatever job I want, whatever hours I want. I don't have to work at all if I don't want to...(but that isn't very realistic, and this is real life we are talking about here.)

And who do we have to rely on? Ourselves? We must be self-sufficient, reliable, and the dreaded word: mature.

But thank goodness for friends. We are all the same crappy age. We are all facing milestones in life and making decisions that could change our lives. When things are going bad we can lean on each other and help each other. We can learn from each others mistakes.

Somehow people reach the age 30. Somehow me and each of my friends will reach 30, then 40 and 50. It won't be easy, but we will figure out this whole 'being grown-up' thing. Over time maybe being grown-up will be less scary, and who knows, it may even be fun.

"A good friend is a connection to life - a tie to the past, a road to the future, the key to sanity in a totally insane world." ~Lois Wyse

Thursday, February 10, 2011

Day 190 - 193

Another photo from the Angie & Jason photo shoot! Just because I haven't had time to go out and about picture hunting. Today is my 4th day of work in a row and I'm so exhausted. I basically sleep, shower and work. I'm lucky if I get a chance to eat a decent meal. Work has been going really well, so I really can't complain.

So in the meantime here is a recap of this week's events:

Monday: Work, staying up till 4am (poor choice)

Tuesday: Work, got some biking in, stayed up till 3am (almost better), Josh got a raise!!!! Like almost a 20% raise. I'm sooo happy for him, he hasn't even been there a year!

Wednesday: Work, went to bed at midnight! (big improvement)

Today: Work, maybe bike later, and planning to spend lots of time contemplating Josh's V-day gift..... (which we are celebrating on my day off tomorrow)

Gift suggestions are welcome!

Sunday, February 6, 2011

Day 189

Day 189! A day that will go down in history! THE PACKERS WON THE SUPER-BOWL!

We knew it was coming and it is finally here!

It's a great day to be a Packer fan, I live in the greatest city in the world tonight!






Here is one of the cute Packer flowers Angie made! I was able to score one this morning, just in time to for the game!

Here is also a sneak peak of Angie and Jason's V-day/snow photoshoot! They are so freaking cute together! We had a lot of fun running around outside taking pictures, despite my trip down the ice and the resulting wet butt!

Photos courtesy of: Your Mom Photography (as I have been dubbed by Angie!)

GO PACK GO!

Saturday, February 5, 2011

The Big Secret is OUT!

I can finally reveal my big secret! Bobby and Cassie got married!!!!!!!!
Being in the Air Force they were having a hard time knowing his schedule and picking a date. So Christmas morning they went and got married along the river walk, with just their parents.
How he was able to wait almost a month before telling me was just amazing, but now the word is out. They had their big reveal on facebook today, so now I can tell the world too!
They will have another ceremony and reception in WI later when his schedule works out, so that all their family and friends can attend and celebrate.
I couldn't be happier for the both of them!!!! I hope their time as newlyweds is just as awesome as mine has been! :) :) :)

Day 187 and 188

I love days off! The past few days have been so relaxing. I've had plenty of time to workout. I was able to write some poetry and watch movies.

Today for lunch we went out to Olive Garden with Josh's parents. It was really nice to get to spend that time and talk with them. It seems like our schedules never match up.

I'm so excited for tomorrow's game. Perfect ending to a perfect weekend. This is the helmet that Tim signed for me! :) Super love it!
Today was actually a pretty nice day out. The icicles on the house were melting like crazy. The groundhog was predicting early spring, hopefully it's very early!!!!

Hope everyone has a great Super Bowl Sunday!!!!! GO PACK GO!

Thursday, February 3, 2011

Day 186

So today was a grand day off! I slept in a bit, and then went to visit my favorite baby! Little Cam was a bit crabby today, but I would be too if I had teeth sawing their way out of my gums! Poor little guy. Also didn't help that I caught him right before he needed to go down for a nap.

I also worked with Jess to get my thank you cards made for the wedding. They are going to turn out so awesome and should be here early next week!

After my C-time I went to see mom at work. I got my autographed Packer helmet from Tim too!!!! :) He even addressed it to me! Awww!

Then I went and got caught up with Lexi and Alyssa. I haven't seen either of them in forever. It was really nice spending time with them!
Tonight was Cadence's first Gambler game! (This is her sneaking popcorn out of my hand.) It was a really good game. Highlights of the game:
--Adam getting belligerent with the fouling players of the other team.
--Catching up on the details of Jodi's life.
--And the Gamblers winning 5-1...FREE HOT DOGS!!!!
--Lots and lots of fights! Very fun game to watch!

Well time to jump on the bike and catch up on the crappy shows that I record! Hope everyone has a fabulous Friday!!!! It's almost game weekend!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! GO PACK GO!

Wednesday, February 2, 2011

Day 185

So I lied... I promised better pictures and I give you more puppies. BUT it's only because I worked today! I don't work the rest of the week so it will get better. This is them both playing dead after I "shot" them. They are so adorable, how could I not take a picture?!

Work was alright tonight... nothing too horrible, nothing too special.




This is Nova jumping up for treats. Not a spectacular picture, but an interesting picture nonetheless.

Well nothing too interesting left to say.... but tomorrow is my day off and it only goes up from here!

Tuesday, February 1, 2011

Day 184

The NFC Championship flag flying proudly over Lambeau Field.

So I can't believe it is already February! This last month has flown by! Today was a good start to the new month. I did an interval training workout, I had different stations for arms, biking and abs. I'll probably be hurting from it tomorrow.

Then for lunch today I went out with Nikki and Becky. We had such a good time. We laughed ourselves to tears on numerous occasions. We also went shopping and found many good bargains. :)

We have our next dates planned: girlie movie night at Nikki's new apartment, and triple date when Beck's man is in town! It will be fabulous.

Oh, oh, oh, I just remembered! Yesterday I got to see something totally awesome. I had a patient who had open heart surgery and they left his chest open with a wound vac. When they changed the wound vac, I got to see the patient's heart beating in their chest. It was insane to see a beating heart in the chest of someone who is awake..... very crazy! Very cool!

This week is my super ultra motivated week to get past my weight loss hump! I've been bouncing around in the same range for months, and this week it is going away! I may have to ramp it up this week and finish it off next week, but by golly it is going to happen! Now is the time to break the hump!

That being said, time to workout for the second time today!

PS - Found my new favorite shade of nail polish! :)

PSS - Don't worry Mr. Lombardi.... we will bring your namesake trophy home!